A New Arrival

I am starting this blog to keep an account of the training process we go through with Rocket, an 8-week-old Golden Retriever foster puppy who arrived at our house on May 1st (2009) courtesy of Helping Paws of Minnesota.  We expect that he will be living with us for about two and one-half years, and during that time we will be taking him to weekly training classes at Helping Paws, with the ultimate goal being that he would be placed with someone as a service dog.

Friends have been asking me, “How do you give a dog up after living with him for two and a half years?  Won’t it be hard?”  My answer to that is that I’m sure it will be hard.  After only a week in our house the little stinker has already captured my heart.  However, I don’t think it will be as difficult as having to say good-bye to a dog due to cancer, thinking specifically of Fuji, my once-in-a-lifetime dog who succumbed to lymphoma two years ago.  If I know that Rocket will be well cared for and well loved, it will be a big help.  And I am confident that Helping Paws wouldn’t place a dog with someone who didn’t meet those criteria.

I’ll update more later about the training process we have already started.  For now, here’s a picture I took today – I have to say that a Golden puppy is about as cute as you can get – wouldn’t you agree?

Rocket at 8 weeks old

Rocket at 8 weeks old

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “A New Arrival”

  1. GMS Says:

    I totally agree that a golden puppy is as cute as they get!

  2. Gail Murphy Says:

    Carol, great blog! It was a real pleasure meeting Rocket, look forward to more visits up north. Gail


Leave a Reply

